5467694_f520

I’m sitting in my hotel room atop the hill wondering how I got myself here. What in the world have I gotten myself into? Am I really prepared for this major move and what really awaits me in this new found ‘pot of gold at the end of the rainbow’? I had just embarked on a major career move and inspite of the obvious fringe benefits, I still feel butterflies in my tummy each time I reflect on all I was leaving behind.

Not very many men can carry a full cup without it disturbing their equilibrium. Making a major move can be one of the most insecure times we ever face in life. Pulling up roots in one place and trying to put them down in another can be not only fearful but depressing. There are people that take years to adjust and some who simply never adjust. For Christians, this is heightened by a sense of wonder over whether God is in the move. And even when we feel assured that God is in it, we can still experience times of uncertainty and discouragement. This applies not only to geographical move but also to career change or even a domestic move like from being single to married. The assurance that God is with us during such life altering moments is terribly important because that’s what keeps us going when the going gets tough.

One vivid case in point is the life of Joseph. He had a dream he was convinced was from God and knowing God was involved in all that happened to him was what sustained his faith even in the face of seduction and life threatening challenges. From having to deal with siblings rivalry to slavery and eventually prison, his trust in God’s omnipotence kept him and helped maintain his integrity. His knowledge of God’s matchless benevolence was what drove him to extend grace to his undeserving siblings in Genesis 50:19-21 when He said “do not be afraid, for am I in the place of God? But as for you, you meant evil against me; but God meant it for good, in order to bring it about as it is this day, to save many people alive. Now therefore, do not be afraid; I will provide for you and your little ones.” This, I’m convinced is a wake up call to all that will read this piece that whatever you might have or are presently going through, as long as you are convinced about God’s leading, do not despair for He always has a way of making music out of broken chords. He will make it all work together for your good.

We live in uncertain times. People change. Circumstances alter our plans, directions and expectations. Whether we plan for them or it’s sheer happenstance, our being rooted in God’s leading helps us adapt to life’s constantly changing situations and our faith and absolute trust in Him is what guarantee our peace even in the face daunting odds…
When we walk with the Lord in the light of His Word,
What a glory He sheds on our way!
While we do His good will, He abides with us still,
And with all who will trust and obey.
Trust and obey, for there’s no other way.
To be happy in Jesus, but to trust and obey.

