images (5)

I am a realist. I never expected life to be a bed of roses but really, I don’t expect it to be this challenging either. As I looked over my life yesterday evening and reminisce, I dwelt especially on the mistakes I’ve made. I tell you what, I was worried. So agitated that my body could even feel the tension. How could I have been so stupid? How could I have allowed myself to be distracted? I should have known better. I should have gone to a different school, studied a different course and been in a different profession. I should have settled down in a different state and proposed to a different woman. I went on and on, crying over split milk and beating myself black and blue.

You know, it’s easy to just assume you took a wrong turn when life’s challenges keeps showing up at every corner. You might as well be thinking your so called alternative forgone could have been the right choice but guess what, that’s what life is all about. It would test you over and over again and no matter how much of these tests you passed, it would keep piling up more. It doesn’t matter whether you made the right move or walk the wrong path. The truth is, you need these tests to move ahead. Life is like a school. You only get to the next level when you’ve passed the test for that level and the higher your aspirations in life, the greater the challenges you’ll encounter. Even Christ didn’t promise us a stress free world, He only promise not to allow us go through that which we don’t have the capacity to contend with. We must therefore learn to balance our expectations and accept the fact that when we make mistakes it’s sometimes more likely that there isn’t much we could have done to alter the circumstances. The fear of failing should never stop us from reaching out. It is better to fail at doing something than to succeed at doing nothing.

Fulfilling destiny entails acknowledging our being human, aligning our individual values, talents and passion with purpose, and diligently pursuing excellence in all we think, speak and do. It involves being responsible for our decisions, seeing each day as an opportunity to learn and taking advantage of lessons learnt from every of our wrong turns and using it as stepping stones to getting it right. We should see growth as a process of experimentation, a series of trials, errors and occasional victories. The failed experiments are as much as a part of the process as the experiments that work. When our mistakes are seen as lessons, it put our victories in a better perspective. We learn to celebrate our little successes, appreciate God inspite of our situations and when next we are tempted to grief over our decisions, we will always remember “there” is no better than “here”. When “there” becomes “here” one will simply obtain another “there” that will look better than the present “here” because “the grass is always greener on the other side”!

